FreeBSD virtual environment management and repository

Attention! Current pages describe CBSD version 12.1.x. If you are using an older version, please update first.

Attention! I apologize for the automatic translation of this text. You can improve it by sending me a more correct version of the text or fix html pages via GITHUB repository.

CBSD and Qemu User mode

Having installed QEMU in the master node, builded with additional targets user mode (\*-user) ( https://wiki.freebsd.org/QemuUserModeHowTo ), you can create jails with alternative architectures other than the master host. At the same time, will be achieved through emulation emulator Qemu, it is completely transparent — if the binary has a non-native architecture, it can perform in this system without having to install a complete Qemu virtual machine.

To CBSD could create such jail, binary of Qemu, providing this architecture in usermode , must be built statically, because the file will be placed inside the jail.

Why it can be useful at all?

First of all, it's a fairly simple way to test the binary FreeBSD specific software architecture in the native environment, while you do not need to search for bootable distribution and install FreeBSD desired architecture on a separate drive from scratch.

Secondly, many owners of ARM-based devices suffer from a lack repository pkg for ARM architectures, and building of the packages directly on very limited resources for capacity themselves Embedded ARM-based devices — to put it mildly, quite sad operation.

ARM-based jail, running on a powerful x86-64 system will allow you to build the necessary packages, you'll have to install Embedded device via a standard pkg in binary form.

According to test results, the loss of speed in the work under QEMU emulator varies from 3% to 25%, for example, in comparison with the power of such devices as RPi-B, modern x86-desktop in any case much faster.

Currently tested jail work on armv6 and mips64 architectures.

Note: because the program will run under qemu, they are have default limit of RAM 128MB, that can lead to crashes some fat processes. I have not found in haste as through user mode tools (qemu-arm, qemu-mips64) indicate -m XX , so you can simply adjust the desired volume in the file vl.c QEMU, specifying such

			#define DEFAULT_RAM_SIZE 512
		

instead of 128.

FreeBSD virtual environment management and repository

Внимание! Данные страницы описывают CBSD версии 12.1.x. Если вы используете более раннюю версию, рекомендуется сначала обновиться.

CBSD и Qemu User mode

Имея установленный в мастер-ноде QEMU, собранный с дополнительными таргетами user mode (\*-user) ( https://wiki.freebsd.org/QemuUserModeHowTo ), вы можете создавать клетки с альтернативной архитектурой, отличной от архитектуры мастер хоста. При этом, эмуляция будет достигаться через эмулятор Qemu, работающий в прозрачном режиме — если бинарный файл имеет отличную от родной архитектуру, он может выполнен в этой системе без необходимости устанавливать целостную виртуальную машину Qemu.

Для того, чтобы CBSD могла создавать такие клетки, выполняемый бинарный файл Qemu, обеспечивающий ту или иную архитектуру в usermode, должнен быть собран статически, поскольку этот файл будет помещен внутри клетки.

Зачем это вообще может быть полезно?

В первую очередь, это достаточно простой способ проверить работоспособность бинарной FreeBSD программы определенной архитектуры в родном окружении, при этом вам не потребуется искать bootable-дистрибутив и устанавливать FreeBSD нужной архитектуры на отдельный носитель с нуля.

Во-вторых, многие владельцы ARM-based устройств страдают от отсутствия репозитория pkg для ARM архитектур, а собирать пакеты непосредственно на крайне ограниченных по мощностям ресурсах самих Embedded ARM-based устройств — мягко скажем, довольно грустная операция.

ARM-based jail, запущенный на мощной x86-64 системе позволит вам собрать необходимые пакеты, которые вы сможете уже проинсталлировать на Embedded устройстве через стандартный pkg в бинарном виде.

По результатам тестирования, потеря скорости в работе под QEMU эмулятором колеблется от 3% до 25% что, например, в сравнении с мощностями таких устройств как RPi-B, современный x86-десктоп в любом случае значительно быстрее.

В данный момент протестирована работа клеток на armv6 архитектуре и mips64

Замечание: ввиду того, что программы будут выполняться под qemu, на них распространяется стандартное ограничение оперативной памяти в 128MB, что может приводить к падениям некоторых пузатых процессов. Я не нашел на скорую руку как через user mode утилиты (qemu-arm, qemu-mips64) указать -m XX, поэтому вы можете просто откорректировать нужный вам объем в файле vl.c QEMU, указав например

			#define DEFAULT_RAM_SIZE 512
		

вместо 128.